A dog of kings

IMG_0766
Meet Putzi, the Maltese who lives with us. Henri II Valois owned six of these noble beasts and introduced them into French society. When he was mortally wounded in a joust his mistress, Diane de Poitiers rushed to his bedchamber but nasty Catherine de Medici would not let her in to say good-bye. She did give her the King’s dogs. Better that than a poisoned apple, I suppose!

Dear Putzi won’t let us forget that he comes from noble stock. After all, the breed was favored in Antiquity by patrician Roman ladies.

About George Vascik, Historian

A 1988 graduate of the University of Michigan, I have taught history at Miami University since 1992. I maintain blogs on teaching Western Civilization and on Great War. My research focuses on anti-Semitism and rural politics in northwest Germany. I am completing a monograph for Bloomsbury Press, Anti-Semitism and Rural Politics. You can follow my project at http://peasantsandjews.org. Along with Mark Sadler, I have published a book of primary documents on the Stab-in-the-Back Myth (Dolchstoßlegende). http://www.dolchstosslegende.com. I also invite you to visit my profession web page at http://georgevascik.org.
This entry was posted in France and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

