The Imperial Crown

I could not resist. This Tweet displays the crown of the Holy Roman Empire. When I show slides of Charles VI and Maria Theresa in class, this is one of the crowns sitting on the table beside them.

Why were the Habsburgs so rarely depicted as wearing this crown? Among other things, as a practical matter its too heavy to wear very long. Also, although the imperial crown is the most important in Europe, the Habsburgs also had the right to wear other significant crowns. They had a separate crowns as kings/queens of Hungary (the crown of St. Stephen) and as King/Elector of Bohemia.

You can see this crown on display in the Treasury (Schatzkammer) in the Hofburg Palace in Vienna. Another reason to visit!

About George Vascik, Historian

A 1988 graduate of the University of Michigan, I have taught history at Miami University since 1992. I maintain blogs on teaching Western Civilization and on Great War. My research focuses on anti-Semitism and rural politics in northwest Germany. I am completing a monograph for Bloomsbury Press, Anti-Semitism and Rural Politics. You can follow my project at http://peasantsandjews.org. Along with Mark Sadler, I have published a book of primary documents on the Stab-in-the-Back Myth (Dolchstoßlegende). http://www.dolchstosslegende.com. I also invite you to visit my profession web page at http://georgevascik.org.
This entry was posted in Austria, Habsburgs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

