Are you interested in Richard III and his world?

This past summer/fall, I took a MOOC (mass open online course) on the Age of Richard III taught by Deirdre O’Sullivan of Leicester University. It was an absolutely marvelous experience.

Yesterday I received a letter from Deirdre informing me that she and her team will be offering the course again this semester, beginning February 16. The high point of the course will be the reinterment of Richard III in Leicester Cathedral. She will be present at the ceremony and will post interviews with the Dean of the Cathedral and others involved in the finding and identification of Richard’s remains. I have marked the date of our family Google calendar; my wife and I will be watching.

If you are at all interested in the Plantagenets, the War of the Roses, and the Tudors, you will love this course!

About George Vascik, Historian

A 1988 graduate of the University of Michigan, I have taught history at Miami University since 1992. I maintain blogs on teaching Western Civilization and on Great War. My research focuses on anti-Semitism and rural politics in northwest Germany. I am completing a monograph for Bloomsbury Press, Anti-Semitism and Rural Politics. You can follow my project at http://peasantsandjews.org. Along with Mark Sadler, I have published a book of primary documents on the Stab-in-the-Back Myth (Dolchstoßlegende). http://www.dolchstosslegende.com. I also invite you to visit my profession web page at http://georgevascik.org.
This entry was posted in MOOCs, Tudor England and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Are you interested in Richard III and his world?

Leave a Reply

