Research Update #3: What carries over into the classroom?

Every research trip I make, I go with a purpose and make a set of goals. Along the way, the list gets amended as some trails go cold and other possibilities open up. This trip, I accomplished what I set out to do and have new ideas to pursue.

As with every trip, I have kept a list of observations: things that I notice about my surroundings or little anecdotes that I can add into my lectures. Some of it is pretty random. There is for instance a new German translation of Lucretius’s De rerum Natura, which I remember struggling with as an undergrad in Latin. It was pretty heavy going both linguistically and philosophically. (Not too surprised; Lucretius’s rejection of the gods mirrors the secularism of German society.) or here’s another: the German word for borders comes from Slavic. That’s were ethno-linguistic nations met.

My students are going to be so sick of me!

About George Vascik, Historian

A 1988 graduate of the University of Michigan, I have taught history at Miami University since 1992. I maintain blogs on teaching Western Civilization and on Great War. My research focuses on anti-Semitism and rural politics in northwest Germany. I am completing a monograph for Bloomsbury Press, Anti-Semitism and Rural Politics. You can follow my project at http://peasantsandjews.org. Along with Mark Sadler, I have published a book of primary documents on the Stab-in-the-Back Myth (Dolchstoßlegende). http://www.dolchstosslegende.com. I also invite you to visit my profession web page at http://georgevascik.org.
This entry was posted in Reflection. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

