Rome’s Lost Empire

I don’t spend a lot time in HST121 on the Byzantine Empire. Constantine creates his “New Rome” and then zap down the memory hole in my traditional lecture. Byzantium fares a little better in my online classes, in that the students visit a website on Hagia Sophia and write on the art and architecture therein.

This came across the ether this morning: Byzantium: Rome’s Lost Empire, a YouTube video of a lecture given by Lars Brownworth at the Smithsonian in December 2009, along with this link Brownworth’s book, Lost to the West: The Forgotten Byzantine Empire That Rescued Western Civilization (Crown Publishing, 2009, ISBN: 978-0-307-40795-5). This last link is really useful as it contains a brief interview with the author, a medievalists.net video review of the book, and a podcast series on 12 Byzantine rulers.

I am really grateful to have been Tweeted this information. I can include much of it (especially the rulers podcast) in my online course. I can also direct the students from my traditional class to the links without deviating from my very tight lecture schedule. Conscience absolved!

About George Vascik, Historian

A 1988 graduate of the University of Michigan, I have taught history at Miami University since 1992. I maintain blogs on teaching Western Civilization and on Great War. My research focuses on anti-Semitism and rural politics in northwest Germany. I am completing a monograph for Bloomsbury Press, Anti-Semitism and Rural Politics. You can follow my project at http://peasantsandjews.org. Along with Mark Sadler, I have published a book of primary documents on the Stab-in-the-Back Myth (Dolchstoßlegende). http://www.dolchstosslegende.com. I also invite you to visit my profession web page at http://georgevascik.org.
This entry was posted in Constantine, Digital History, HST 121, Teaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

