Napoleon’s last exile

I hate it when I have to stop telling a good story. See this:

One reviewer describes this book as, “[a] work of impeccable fairness. Without rehabilitating Lowe, Brian Unwin points out the extreme difficulties faced by the British general, dismisses the complex conspiracy theories of a plot to murder Napoleon by degrees, and points out the intransigence of a man who had thought he possessed a destiny to rule the world, only to discover that, at the end, he was no better than ordinary mortals. A refreshingly objective account of a subject much perverted by myth, anti-Anglicism and daft conspiracy.

But its so much more fun to tell students that the evil Brits conspired to poison Napoleon!

About George Vascik, Historian

A 1988 graduate of the University of Michigan, I have taught history at Miami University since 1992. I maintain blogs on teaching Western Civilization and on Great War. My research focuses on anti-Semitism and rural politics in northwest Germany. I am completing a monograph for Bloomsbury Press, Anti-Semitism and Rural Politics. You can follow my project at http://peasantsandjews.org. Along with Mark Sadler, I have published a book of primary documents on the Stab-in-the-Back Myth (Dolchstoßlegende). http://www.dolchstosslegende.com. I also invite you to visit my profession web page at http://georgevascik.org.
This entry was posted in French Revolution, HST 122, Teaching and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

