Walking Hadrian’s Wall with Google Street View

segu

Dr. Christoph Pallaske of the Historisches Institut at the Universität zu Köln has developed the most interesting site (segu or selbstgesteuert entwickelnder geschichts-unterricht) that allows users to visit historical places using Google Street View. One very interesting example is this walk along the remains of Hadrian’s Wall. This is especially meaningful for me as every time I lecture on Roman Britain, I express the wish to hike the wall some day. (A student of mine has actually done so and I am so jealous!) Other projects currently available include the Berlin Wall, the Nuremberg Rally site, Auschwitz-Birkenau, and the Berliner Schloßplatz. Among other things, the site allows for the creation of local, self-generated history classes and walks. (That’s where the selbstgesteuert entwickelnder part comes in.)

The way that we can craft new media to enhance learning about and understanding the past is incredible. We are on the threshold of a whole new age.

About George Vascik, Historian

A 1988 graduate of the University of Michigan, I have taught history at Miami University since 1992. I maintain blogs on teaching Western Civilization and on Great War. My research focuses on anti-Semitism and rural politics in northwest Germany. I am completing a monograph for Bloomsbury Press, Anti-Semitism and Rural Politics. You can follow my project at http://peasantsandjews.org. Along with Mark Sadler, I have published a book of primary documents on the Stab-in-the-Back Myth (Dolchstoßlegende). http://www.dolchstosslegende.com. I also invite you to visit my profession web page at http://georgevascik.org.
This entry was posted in HST 121, Reflection, Resources, Roman Britain, Rome, Teaching and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

